We decided to postpone JTELSS20 because of COVID-19 pandemic.

We will give all applicants (both instructors and PhD candidates) a choice to keep their submissions valid for next year. And we will organize a small online meetup for the JTELSS community during the last week of May 2020.


General chair

Mikhail Fominykh

Mikhail Fominykh

Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Mikhail Fominykh is a researcher, developer and enthusiast in the area of technology-enhanced learning. Mikhail is serving as a Secretary and as the Education chair in the executive board of EATEL from 2021 to 2025. Mikhail holds a researcher position in the IMTEL research group at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology – NTNU, […]


Marco Kalz

Heidelberg University of Education, Germany

Marco Kalz is a full professor of technology-enhanced learning at the Heidelberg University of Education. He is also affiliated to the UNESCO chair of open education of the Open University of the Netherlands. His research interest lies on the use of open education, pervasive technologies and formative assessment to support self-directed lifelong learning. He has […]

Local chairs

Venue and local partnerships

Maria Perifanou

University of Macedonia, Greece

Dr. Maria Perifanou is an adjunct lecturer in Applied Linguistics at the Faculty of Italian Language & Literature at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and an adjunct academic staff at the Hellenic Open University at TESOL Master’s Programme. She works also as a senior researcher at the Smart and Mobile Learning Environments (SMILE) Lab of […]

Logistics and Excursions

Tina Papathoma

Tina Papathoma

Code University of Applied Sciences

Logistics and Excursions

Paraskevi Topali

Radboud University, The Netherlands

Local partnerships and advice

Avgoustos Tsinakos

International Hellenic University, Greece

Local partnerships and advice

Anastasios Economides

University of Macedonia, Greece

Organization Team


Alejandro Ortega-Arranz

Universidad de Valladolid, Spain

Alejandro Ortega-Arranz received his Ph.D. degree in telecommunications engineering from Universidad de Valladolid (Spain), in 2021. Currently, he is Assistant Professor at the Computer Science Department of the University of Valladolid (Spain), and an active member of the GSIC-EMIC Research Group. GSIC-EMIC aims at improving the teaching and learning educational processes scientifically, and Alejandro’s main […]


Daniele Di Mitri

DIPF, Germany

Daniele Di Mitri is a research team leader of the “Augmented Feedback” group at DIPF Leibniz Institute for Research and Information in Education and a lecturer at the Goethe University of Frankfurt. Daniele received his PhD entitled “The Multimodal Tutor” at the Open University of The Netherlands (2020) in Learning Analytics and wearable sensor support. […]

Program Committee

Alexander Mikroyannidis, The Open University, United Kingdom
Ana Loureiro, Polytechnic Institute of Santarém, Portugal
Ana Luísa Torres, Polytechnic Institute of Santarém, Portugal
Anastasios Economides, University of Macedonia, Greece
Angela Fessl, Graz University of Technology, Austria
Anna Nicolaou, Cyprus University of Technology
Antigoni Parmaxi, Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Avgoustos Tsinakos, International Hellenic University, Greece
Birgy Lorenz, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
Carlos Santos, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Davinia Hernandez-Leo, Pompeu Fabra University, Spain
José A. Ruipérez Valiente, University of Murcia, Spain
Kairit Tammets, Tallinn University, Estonia
Laia Albó Perez, Pompeu Fabra University, Spain
Luis Pedro, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Luis P. Prieto, Tallinn University, Estonia
Manuel Leon, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Maria Impedovo, Aix-Marseille University, France
Maria Jose Loureiro, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Mikhail Fominykh, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Milos Kravcik, German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence
Patricia Santos, Pompeu Fabra University, Spain
Ralf Klamma, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Roland Klemke, Open University of the Netherlands
Sandy Ingram, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Western Switzerland
Sebastian Kelle, University of Illinois, United States
Maria Victoria Soule, Cyprus University of Technology
Viktoria Pammer-Schindler, Graz University of Technology, Austria
Zacharoula Papamitsiou, Norwegian University of Science and Technology